Call Us Now: +33 757 906 131
Davis vs Romero results, live blog, main event, undercard

Davis vs Romero results, live blog, main event, undercard

Gervonta Davis (26-0, 24 KOs) defends his WBA lightweight title against Rolando Romero (14-0, 12 KOs) in the main event at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York on Saturday May 28, which makes it Sunday May 29 in the UK and Australia. The scheduled for twelve rounds championship bout pits undefeated five-time world champion and unbeaten top-ranked mandatory challenger. The pair battles it out in the headliner of a four-fight card live on pay-per-view.

Advertisements

In the co-main event two-division world champion Erislandy Lara (28-3-3, 16 KOs) defends his WBA middleweight title in a twelve-rounder against Gary O’Sullivan (31-4, 21 KOs). Also on the card unbeaten Jesus Ramos (18-0, 15 KOs) takes on Luke Santamaria (13-2-1, 7 KOs) in a ten-rounder at super welterweight. In addition, Eduardo Ramirez (26-2-3, 12 KOs) faces off Luis Melendez (17-1, 13 KOs) in a ten-round super featherweight PPV opener.


How to watch Gervonta Davis vs Rolando Romero

United States

Broadcast: PPV on Showtime

Date: Saturday, May 28

Time: 9 pm ET / 6 pm PT

UK & other countries

Broadcast: FITE

Date: Sunday, May 29

Time: 2 am BST / 3 am CEST

Australia

Broadcast: Kayo

Date: Sunday, May 29

Time: 11 am AEST / 9 am AWST


Gervonta Davis vs Rolando Romero results

  • Gervonta Davis def. Rolando Romero by TKO (R6 at 2:39) | Watch highlights
  • Erislandy Lara def. Gary O’Sullivan by TKO (R8 at 0:23) | Watch highlights
  • Jesus Alejandro Ramos def. Lucas Santamaria by unanimous decision (98-92, 97-93, 97-93) | Watch highlights
  • Eduardo Ramirez def. Luis Melendez by majority decision (95-95, 96-94, 98-92) | Watch highlights
  • Luis Arias def. Jimmy Williams by unanimous decision (99-91, 99-91, 99-91)
  • Jalil Hackett def. Jose Belloso by TKO (R2 at 2:20)

Gervonta Davis vs Rolando Romero live blog

Stay tuned with Gervonta Davis vs Rolando Romero live blog below.

Advertisements

To refresh the feed click here.

1:11 am ET / 3:11 pm AEST

As the action inside the squared circle concludes (and to round up this live blog) Davis vs Romero post-fight press conference follows.

12:56 am ET / 2:56 pm AEST

Gervonta Davis TKO’s Rolando Romero in Round 6 to remain undefeated and retain WBA lightweight title.

12:44 am ET / 2:44 pm AEST

12:26 am ET / 2:26 pm AEST

12:25 am ET / 2:25 pm AEST

12:19 am ET / 2:19 pm AEST

Main event – Gervonta Davis defends WBA lightweight title against Rolando Romero. The bout is scheduled for twelve rounds.

Gervonta Davis vs Rolando Romero
Gervonta Davis vs Rolando Romero faceoff | Amanda Westcott/SHOWTIME

12:06 am ET / 2:06 pm AEST

Erislandy Lara TKO’s Gary O’Sullivan in the eighth round to retain WBA middleweight title.

Advertisements

11:46 pm ET / 1:46 pm AEST

11:25 pm ET / 1:25 pm AEST

Co-main event: Two-time world champion Erislandy Lara defends his WBA middleweight title against Gary O’Sullivan. The bout is scheduled for twelve rounds.

Erislandy Lara vs Gary O'Sullivan
Erislandy Lara vs Gary O’Sullivan weigh-in | Amanda Westcott/SHOWTIME

11:07 pm ET / 1:07 pm AEST

Jesus Alejandro Ramos defeats Lucas Santamaria by unanimous decision. After ten rounds of a super welterweight battle the scores were 98-92, 97-93 and 97-93.

10:59 pm ET / 12:59 pm AEST

Barclays Center is Full.

10:44 pm ET / 12:44 pm AEST

10:16 pm ET / 12:16 pm AEST

Up next – Jesus Alejandro Ramos battles it up against Lucas Santamaria. The bout is scheduled for ten rounds at super welterweight.

Jesus Alejandro Ramos vs Lucas Santamaria
Jesus Alejandro Ramos vs Lucas Santamaria weigh-in | Amanda Westcott/SHOWTIME

10:12 pm ET / 12:12 pm AEST

Eduardo Ramirez defeats Luis Melendez by majority decision. The scores were 95-95, 96-94, 98-92.

10:03 pm ET / 12:03 pm AEST

Davis looks forward to Round 2.

10:01 pm ET / 12:01 pm AEST

Romero insists he will KO Davis in one round: “He is easy to hit”.

9:59 pm ET / 11:59 am AEST

Here is the official Davis vs Romero tale of the tape.

Davis vs Romero tale of the tape
Davis vs Romero tale of the tape | Twitter/ShowtimeBoxing

9:44 pm ET / 11:44 am AEST

8:51 pm ET / 10:51 am AEST

The main card starts in less than ten minutes. First up we’ll see Eduardo Ramirez going up against Luis Melendez. The bout is scheduled for ten rounds at super featherweight.

Eduardo Ramirez vs Luis Melendez
Eduardo Ramirez vs Luis Melendez weigh-in | Amanda Westcott/SHOWTIME

8:33 pm ET / 10:33 am AEST

Luis Arias defeats Jimmy Williams by unanimous decision rounding up Davis vs Romero prelims. All three judges scored the fight 99-91.

7:19 pm ET / 9:19 am AEST

Jalil Hackett stops Jose Belloso in the second round to improve to 4-0, 3 KO. Belloso drops to 4-1, 4 KOs.

6:55 pm ET / 8:55 am AEST

Davis vs Romero prelims start in less than ten minutes. Here is the link to a free live stream (via Showtime Sports channel on YouTube, US only).

6:25 pm ET / 8:25 am AEST

The four-fight Davis vs Romero PPV card.

Davis vs Romero PPV card
Davis vs Romero PPV card | Twitter/ShowtimeBoxing

5:41 pm ET / 7:41 am AEST

The two-fight Davis vs Romero preliminary card features Luis Arias faceoff Jimmy Williams in a ten-rounder at super welterweight and Jalil Hackett up against Jose Belloso in a six-rounder at welterweight.

Davis vs Romero undercard
Davis vs Romero undercard | Twitter/ShowtimeBoxing

5:18 pm ET / 7:18 am AEST

To get the things started, check out the short video below from the official weigh-in ceremony conducted a day before the fight show. After the fighters came face to face and started facing the public, Davis pushed Romero off the stage. The latter got back up and tried to get back at him.


Davis vs Romero fight card

Davis vs Romero fight card comprises ten bouts in total. The four-fight main card live on PPV follows a pair of free preliminary bouts. The action begins with a four-fight non-televised undercard.

The full Davis vs Romero lineup looks as the following:

Main Card (PPV)

  • Gervonta Davis vs. Rolando Romero, 12 rounds, lightweight – Davis’ WBA lightweight title
  • Erislandy Lara vs. Gary O’Sullivan, 12 rounds, middleweight – Lara’s WBA middleweight title
  • Jesus Alejandro Ramos vs. Lucas Santamaria, 10 rounds, super welterweight
  • Eduardo Ramirez vs. Luis Melendez, 10 rounds, super featherweight

Preliminary Card

  • Luis Arias vs. Jimmy Williams, 10 rounds, super welterweight
  • Jalil Hackett vs. Jose Belloso, 6 rounds, welterweight

Undercard

  • Cuttino Oliver vs. Jahden Lewis, 4 rounds, super bantamweight
  • Mia Ellis vs. Jaica Pavilus, 6 rounds, lightweight
  • Adrian Benton vs. Jose Antonio Meza, 6 rounds, super lightweight
  • Arnold Gonzalez vs. Tracey McGruder, 6 rounds, welterweight

Advertisements

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.